Welcome to Nutfield Church (C of E) Primary School

Call us on: 01737 823239

Latest news

Thank you to all the parents/carers who voted in the Parent Governor ballot. We had a very good response and I am pleased to announce that Michael Hill has been re-elected as a Parent Governor for a term of 4 years from 18th December 2019.

We welcome Michael on his return to the governing body and look forward to working with him as a Governor continuing to contribute to the work of the governing body in ensuring high standards of achievement for all children in our school.

Miss Imogen Woods

Governing Body

A warm welcome from our Co-Chairs of the Nutfield Church (C of E) Primary School Governing Body, Mrs Serena Fowler and Mr Sam Nicholls.

The Governing Body shall comprise 14 Governors drawn from the wider community that the school covers including parents, staff, the local churches, the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education and the Local Authority.  The individual members bring a diversity of knowledge and experience to our school.

The three core functions of the Governing Body are:

  • Ensuring clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction;
  • Holding the Executive Headteacher to account for the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff;
  • Overseeing the financial performance of the school and making sure its money is well spent

The role of the Governing Body is to:

  • set the strategic direction, vision and ethos of the school
  • monitor and challenge the progress of the school in achieving its priorities
  • recruit and performance manage the Headteacher
  • exercise employer responsibility
  • ensure the school meets its statutory responsibilities
  • ensure financial probity, solvency and effective financial management including the use of Pupil Premium and other resources to overcome barriers to learning and to close the gap
  • ensure the premises are well managed
  • report to the school’s stakeholders
  • ensure robust accountability for teaching and learning, attainment, behaviour and safeguarding

Working together

The Governing Body works in partnership with our Executive Headteacher, the staff, parents, Local Authority and the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education towards the continuing improvement in standards and achievements at our school.

The full Governing Body meets once every half term.  We also have committees for Discipline and Grievance, and Appraisal & Pay, and also a Finance Working Party in which certain Governors are appointed according to their skills set.  

The key stages have a specific Governor allocated to them (for Early Years Foundation Stage, Key Stage 1, Key Stage 2 – Years 3 and 4, and Key Stage 2 Years 5 and 6). The nominated Governor focuses on attainment and achievement in their particular area. Key subjects including English, Maths and RE each have a nominated Governor who works closely with the Staff Middle Leaders to ensure the best outcomes for all our children.   

Some Governors have specific responsibility for certain areas such as Safeguarding and Child Protection, Special Needs, Looked After Children, Outcomes, and Governor training. This allows the nominated Governor to focus on a particular area, work closely with the relevant staff, and feed back to the full Governing Body.

Governors are expected to visit the school regularly to get to know the staff and pupils and observe our school at work. The visiting Governor reports back to the full Governing Body to help with the strategic role and future direction for our school.

Every year Governors, staff, representatives from the PTFA, representative volunteers and the School Council work together to plan the future developments of our school.

Our Governing Body


Mr. Sam Nicholls Co Chair of the FGB
LA Governor
Co-Chair of FGB, Honorary Treasurer, Grievance and Discipline Committee, Appraisal & Pay Committee, Finance Working Party, Sports Premium Governor, EYFS Governor, Health and Safety Governor NIL 29/06/2018 – 28/06/2022
6 of 7
Mrs. Serena Fowler Co Chair of the FGB
Foundation Governor appointed by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education for St. Peter & St. Paul, Nutfield
Co-Chair of the FGB, Grievance and Discipline (Staff Appeal Committee), Appraisal & Pay Committee, RE and SMSC Governor, Collective Worship Governor, Admissions & Appeals Governor, Outcomes Governor (with Chris Pearse), British Values Governor  NIL 06/06/2018 – 05/06/2022
7 of 7
Miss Imogen Woods Executive Headteacher – Ex Officio Designated Safeguarding Lead, Appraisal & Pay Committee (Advisory) NIL Ex Officio

5 of 7

Rev. Phaedra Pamphilon- Green Foundation Governor – Ex Officio – principal officiating minister of the ecclesiastical parish of Bletchingley and Nutfield.   NIL Ex Officio

3 of 6

Mrs. Katharine Brooks Staff Governor   NIL 05/09/2016 – 04/09/2020
2 of 6
Mr. Christopher Pearse Foundation Governor appointed by the Parochial Church Council of Christ Church, South Nutfield Grievance and Discipline Committee, Finance Working Party. Maths Governor, Inclusion Governor (including SEN and Pupil Premium), Outcomes Governor (with Serena Fowler) NIL 17/07/2017-16/07/2021
3 of 6
Mrs. Vicky Atherley Foundation Governor appointed by the Parochial Church Council of St. Peter & St. Paul, Nutfield.   NIL 05/06/2017 – 04/06/2021

4 of 6

Mr. Michael Hill Parent Governor Grievance and Discipline (Staff Appeal Committee), Finance Working Party, English Governor, School Improvement Fund,   NIL Re-elected

18/12/2019 – 17/12/2023
5 of 6

Mrs. Diane Martin Foundation Governor appointed by the Southwark Diocesan Board of Education – Christ Church, South Nutfield. Grievance and Discipline (Staff Appeal Committee), Behaviour & Safety Governor, Child Protection Governor, Looked After Children Governor,  KS1 Governor, Governor responsible for Whistleblowing, Link (Training) Governor. NIL 05/09/2016 – 04/09/2020
5 of 6
Mrs. Kristy Armer Foundation Governor appointed by the Parochial Church Council of St. Peter & St. Paul, Nutfield  School Improvement Fund NIL 05/09/2016-04/09/2020
4 of 6
Mr. Simon Mould Parent Governor KS2 Governor (Years 3 and 4) NIL 19/12/2016 – 18/12/2020
6 of 6
Mrs Anna Benjamin Co-Opted Governor – Staff Member   NIL 01/02/2017 – 31/01/2021

6 of 6

Mrs. Jane Vorster


Foundation Governor appointed by the Parochial Church Council of Christ Church, South Nutfield KS2 Governor (Years 5 and 6) NIL 16/11/2017 – 15/11/2021

5 of 6


Vacancy: Foundation Governor, ex-officio of the ecclesiastical parish of Christ Church, South Nutfield

The Clerk to the Governing Body is Mrs Philippa Assender who can be contacted via the School Office. Please feel free to contact any member of the Governing Body via the School Office.

Governing Body Meeting Dates for 2019/20

  • Thursday, 19th September 2019  (9.30 – 11.30 am)
  • Wednesday 27th November 2019  (6 – 8 pm)
  • Thursday, 23rd January 2020  (9.30 – 11.30 am)
  • Tuesday, 31st March 2020  (6 – 8 pm)
  • Thursday, 21st May 2020  (9.30 – 11.30 am)
  • Tuesday, 7th July 2020  (6 – 8 pm)

Governors’ Meetings are open.  Please contact the School Office for further enquiries.

Tel: 01737 823239.